Anime

So today’s post got a little delayed because today I participated in Lisbon’s 22nd Half Marathon! It was very fun, and I accomplished a very important objective: finishing it without stopping/walking! My time was 2 hours and 16 minutes, which I think it’s pretty good for a first time!

Anyway, on to today’s topic! Anime!
Today I decided to talk a little about this, which was one of the things that drew my attention to Japan long ago.
In Japanese, “anime” (アニメ) refers to animated cartoons, in general, but we in the West usually call anime only to Japanese animated cartoons.

(Fullmetal Alchemist – 鋼の錬金術師)
It’s a difference I completely approve, not only because of the difference in cartoon design/animation (where it’s more perceptible to most people), but also because of the voice actors quality, the soundtrack quality, the storyline quality, the characters quality, and the things you can learn with them!
I risk myself being wrong here, but my conviction is that the big majority of anime are more than mere animated cartoons, having an awesome moral you can always take. At least that’s what I felt with most anime I watched.
(Death Note – デスノート)
The above picture is from Death Note, my favourite anime of all time.
A brilliant college student who is tired of society and its way of (not) punishing criminals, finds himself with a mysterious notebook that fell from the sky. This notebook has a particular ability: if the user writes anyone’s name (knowing that person’s face) in the notebook, he can instantly kill that person. So the main character, Kira (キラ, from English, killer), decided to pay attention to the news and punish every criminal he could get his eyes on.
Impressive eh? Is this just one more cartoon? NO! It’s something that makes you think about everything related to your very existence, what rights/duties humans have in this world, and so on. I think watching anime really develops your thinking, way to see the world, way to take decisions.
Moreover, voice actors always have a really professional and awesome way of interpreting their characters. And even people who have exquisite music tastes have much to explore! Most soundtracks have a really high quality and there are as many genres as you want. I remember the anime from the first picture (Fullmetal Alchemist) having a lot of classical pieces, which I loved. So it can even develop your music tastes too!
(Elfen Lied – エルフェンリード)

(Spirited Away – 千と千尋の神隠し)
So, all these facts make most anime something not only for children but for adults as well. And honestly, I think most anime are way better than most series/dramas that pass on television. And to those who like saying that “anime is all the same”, I say “YOU are all the same”.  😉
Anime is something that needs special attention from the viewer, so unfortunately not everyone is up to the challenge! Are you? 🙂


Leave an answer

