Best Spot 1: Nikko (日光)

After recently officially starting the Kanji Tips section, here is yet another new kind of post!

From now on I will be introducing to you some of the best places to visit in Japan! And of course I had to start with 日光 (Nikko), one of my favorite places until now! Check it’s location here:

Map:

If you have been following my blog, you already notice that I have been to Nikko twice (check here and here), first in a school trip, and then with a friend.

As you can see in the map, it is a place completely different from Tokyo, or from that mega urbanized and futuristic image that most people have about Japan. It’s the countryside. Simply the countryside. And it’s beautiful.

I was originally born and raised in Portugal countryside, so maybe that is why this place means so much to me.

It is located in the middle of the mountains, without much confusion, public transportations, convenience stores (!), but with a lot of Nature, charming spots, temples, shrines and much more. I personally think it’s quite a relaxing place to visit, and from the two times I visited, I liked the second time the most, because I went with my own schedule prepared, so I visited whatever I wanted to.

One of the things I don’t like about tour visits is that they normally take you to famous places only, where it is crowded, and where everybody goes. Of course those places are beautiful as well, but Nikko is by far more than that. It has so many hidden places that in the middle of the silent forest tell you so many things. It’s really amazing.

I am actually thinking about visiting it again soon to see the autumn leaves (紅葉, こうよう, kouyou) spectacle of Japan.

It is definitely a must-go spot in Japan!


Leave an answer

