Anime: Bleach (ブリーチ)

Bleach (ブリーチ) is a long action anime series with 366 episodes, 2 OVAs and 4 movies, which aired in Japan from October 6th, 2004 to March 27th, 2012.

Bleach follows the adventures of Kurosaki Ichigo after he obtains the powers of a Soul Reaper (死神 Shinigami, literally, “Death God“) – one who governs the flow of souls between the human world and the Soul Society – from another Soul Reaper, Kuchiki Rukia. His newfound powers force him to take on the duties of defending humans from evil spirits and guiding departed souls to the afterlife.

It all started with the sudden appearance of Rukia, who arrives in search of a Hollow, a dangerous lost soul that absorbs energy from souls. When Rukia is severely wounded defending Ichigo from the Hollow, she transfers a part of her reiatsu (霊圧, literally, “spiritual pressure”) energy to Ichigo so that he can defeat the Hollow. 

However, Ichigo takes almost all of her energy, transforming him into a Soul Reaper and allowing him to defeat the Hollow with ease. With her powers diminished, Rukia is left stranded in the human world until she can recover her strength. In the meantime, Ichigo must take over Rukia’s role as a Soul Reaper, battling Hollows and guiding souls to the afterlife realm known as the Soul Society (尸魂界 (ソウル·ソサエティ) Sōru Sosaeti).

This is just the beginning of the story. There are 16 seasons where new enemies, new allies, new challenges come to our hero Ichigo. A lot of action, in a very popular anime!

Have a look at an awesome battle from the anime below! (HUGE SPOILERS!)

Leave an answer

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s