Anime: Haibane Renmei (灰羽連盟)

Haibane Renmei (灰羽連盟, lit. “Charcoal Feather Federation”) is a 13-episode anime series based on the work of Abe Yoshitoshi (安倍 吉俊).

A dream of falling from the sky…and then birth. Rakkaa newly hatched Haibane (灰羽) (a being resembling an angel) is born from a large cocoon into the Old Home, greeted by a group of females with small wings on their backs and shining halos above their heads. Soon Rakka’s own wings grow, a halo is placed on her head and she is told that she must work in the nearby town of Grie. She soon realizes that the town and the entire world they live in are confined behind the Wall, a tall, impenetrable wall that none except the mysterious Toga are allowed to exit.

Rakka awakens into an unfamiliar world with only a strange dream of falling from the sky as her only memory. Alone and scared of who and what she is, she is cared for by fellow Haibane as they try and search for the meaning of their existence as well as what lies beyond their town’s imprisoning walls.

The music for the series is composed by Ootani Kou (大谷 幸).

Leave an answer

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s