Anime: Kids on the Slope (坂道のアポロン)

10291

Kids on the Slope (坂道のアポロンSakamichi no Aporon, lit. “Apollo on the Slope”) is a Japanese manga series by Kodama Yuki. An anime television series adaptation of the same name aired in 2012, directed by Watanabe Shinichirō.

Šî–{ CMYK

The beginning of summer, 1966; because of his father’s job situation, freshman high school student Nishimi Kaoru moves by himself from Yokosuka to Sasebo in Kyushu to live with relatives. Until then, Kaoru was an honor roll student who tended to keep to himself, but meeting notorious “bad boy” Kawabuchi Sentaro starts to change him. Through his devil-may-care classmate, Kaoru learns how much fun it is to play jazz and finds the first person he can call a real friend.

img_1

This, too, was a recommendation from the same person who suggested me to watch The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. But this time, the genre is a bit different. This time it’s about music, which is the main theme of the anime. However, more than music, I think what I liked the most was the theme of friendship. How looks can deceive, sometimes for the best. And how music can move mountains.

maxresdefault

Since I started working here in Japan, I decided to make a pause in my sax playing. Still don’t know for how long. Might be three years, ten years, or forever, who knows. However, it was thanks to that instrument and all I’ve learned with it, that I was able to become who I am today, and that’s something I’ll never forget.

Be it at work or at home, listening to my favorite music is still something that gives me strength 🙂

10 out of 10 to this one. Really recommended to any anime fan!


Leave an answer

